Flood of Incumbents Announce They Will Not Seek Reelection

December 10, 2021

Legislative News

  • Share this:

The third and fourth longest-serving members of the Texas Senate, the chair of the powerful House State Affairs Committee, the architects of 2019’s lauded public education reform, a 30-year veteran of the Texas House: What do these lawmakers share in common? None of them will be back when the Legislature reconvenes 13 months from now.

With a few days still remaining and further attrition all but certain, one thing is clear as we approach the Dec. 13 candidate filing deadline — many familiar faces will be absent when the 88th Texas Legislature convenes.

A late change of heart is always possible, but based on their announcements, the representatives and senators listed below will not return in 2023.

Texas Senate

Dawn Buckingham (R-Lakeway). Running for Texas Land Commissioner.
Eddie Lucio Jr. (D-Brownsville)
Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound)
Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo)
Larry Taylor (R-Friendswood)

Texas House

Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton). Running for Lieutenant Governor.
Kyle Biedermann (R-Fredericksburg)
Jeff Cason (R-Bedford)
Garnet Coleman (D-Houston)
Jasmine Crockett (D-Dallas). Running for Congressional District 30.
John Cyrier (R-Lockhart)
Joe Deshotel (D-Beaumont)
Alex Dominguez (D-Brownsville). Running for Texas Senate District 27.
John Frullo (R-Lubbock)
Dan Huberty (R-Walden)
Celia Israel (D-Austin). Considering a run for Austin Mayor.
Phil King (R-Weatherford). Running for Texas Senate District 10.
Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth). Running for Tarrant County District Attorney.
Lyle Larson (R-San Antonio)
Ben Leman (R-Iola)
Eddie Lucio III (D-Brownsville)
Mayes Middleton (R-Wallisville). Running for Texas Senate District 11.
Ina Minjarez (D-San Antonio). Running for Bexar County Judge.
Jim Murphy (R-Houston)
Chris Paddie (R-Marshall)
Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound). Running for Texas Senate District 12.
Eddie Rodriguez (D-Austin). Running for Congressional District 35.
Scott Sanford (R-McKinney)
John Turner (D-Dallas)
James White (R-Hillister). Running for Texas Agriculture Commissioner.

For more information about this article, please contact Pete Winckler.